Mattress Trials & Warranties in Australia: What the Fine Print Says
We read the trial and warranty terms of 12 mattress brands, so you know what “free returns” and a “15-year warranty” actually mean before you buy.
Seven things the fine print says
“Free returns” usually means capital cities
Outside the metro areas each brand lists, you often carry the mattress yourself: to a Koala depot, a charity (Sleep Republic, Sleep Firm, Peace Lily, Origin), or at your own cost (Luxara, Yinahla where no charity serves you). Ergoflex charges about $100–$350 for a regional return.
Keep the plastic bag
Sleep Republic, Sleep Firm, Yinahla and Luxara will not collect a mattress that is not sealed in a mattress bag. Sleep Republic and Sleep Firm sell one, and so does Bunnings.
Some trials make you wait
Origin will not take a return before 25 days, OneBed before 30. Most other brands ask for two to four weeks without making it a rule.
One trial per household is common
Sleep Republic, Sleep Firm, Yinahla, Luxara and Peace Lily allow one return; Ecosa, OneBed and Sleeping Duck allow up to two mattresses. Buying two? Usually only one can go back.
A stain can end both
Stains can void the return at Origin, Sleep Republic, Sleep Firm, Yinahla, Ecosa, OneBed and Ergoflex, and the warranties we read commonly exclude them. A protector protects your refund as well as the mattress.
“Sagging” has a number, and it varies
The dip has to pass 20mm at Ecosa and OneBed, about 25mm at Koala, Emma, Origin and Ergoflex, 30mm at Sleep Republic, Sleep Firm, Yinahla and Sleeping Duck, and 35mm at Luxara before the warranty applies.
Your base can void the warranty
Sleeping Duck excludes sprung and adjustable bases. Sleep Firm and Yinahla exclude curved, euro and flexible slats and set a maximum slat gap. Check yours before the mattress arrives.
Sleep trials, brand by brand
| Brand | Trial | Minimum before returning | Return in the city | Return outside the city | Packing and condition | Limits | Money back |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Koala | 120 days | — | Free pick-up in Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane, Adelaide, Canberra and Perth | You take it to a Koala depot; shipping not covered | Folded and wrapped | — | Delivery fees not refunded |
| Emma | 150 nights | 3–4 weeks (asked) | Free pick-up | Not stated | — | — | Regional delivery fee ($79 or $160) not refunded |
| Sleep Republic | 150 nights | 14 days (asked) | Free charity collection in many areas | You donate it yourself and send proof | Sealed mattress bag required; no stains | One trial per household | Full refund about 7 days after collection |
| Sleep Firm | 150 nights | — | Free in Melbourne, Sydney, Canberra, Brisbane, Gold Coast, Adelaide, Hobart and Perth | You donate it yourself and send proof | Sealed mattress bag required; as new | One return per household | Full refund |
| Yinahla | 150 nights, swap or return | 14 nights (asked) | Free (same cities as Sleep Firm) | Charity pick-up if one serves your area, otherwise at your cost | Original plastic bag required; as new | One swap or return per household | Full refund, or the price difference on a swap |
| Luxara | 100 nights | 30 nights (asked) | Free in Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane, Adelaide and Perth | Return shipping not covered | Must be bagged; no odours or pets | One exchange or one refund | Within 10 days of collection |
| Peace Lily | 100 nights | 30 days (asked) | Free charity pick-up in most areas | You donate it yourself and send the receipt | — | One mattress, one topper and two pillows per household | Full refund after donation |
| Ecosa | 100 nights | 14 nights (recommended) | Salvos pick-up, up to 10 business days | Ecosa helps arrange it | No mould, dirt, stains or smells | One return (up to two mattresses) per household | Full refund; receipt needed |
| OneBed | 125 nights | 30 nights (required) | Collected within 30 days | Not stated | No stains, tears or odours | Two mattresses per household; not for referral-discounted orders | Full refund after collection |
| Origin | 120 days | 25 days (required) | Salvos pick-up within 2–4 weeks | You take it to a charity | Stained mattresses not refunded | Only one of several identical units | 7–14 business days after donation |
| Sleeping Duck | 100 nights | — | Free return | Not stated | — | Two mattresses per household | Full purchase price |
| Ergoflex | 30 nights | — | Free in most metro areas | Return fee of about $100–$350 | Clean and undamaged; photos first | — | Initial delivery not refunded |
“Asked” means the brand requests it; “required” means it will refuse an earlier return. Luxara readers: code BESTMATTRESS100 takes $100 off any Luxara mattress.
Warranties, brand by brand
| Brand | Mattress warranty | Sag covered once deeper than | Conditions worth knowing |
|---|---|---|---|
| Koala | 10 years | 25mm | Repair or replace at Koala’s choice; original purchaser only |
| Emma | 10 years | 2.5cm | Cracks in the foam must be reported within 6 months |
| Sleep Republic | 12 years | 30mm | Proper base; rotate as specified; claim with the email or phone you ordered with |
| Sleep Firm | 15 years | 30mm | Slat gaps no wider than 10cm (15cm if covered); curved, euro or flexible slats void it; rotate |
| Yinahla | 20 years | 30mm | Same base and rotation rules as Sleep Firm |
| Luxara | 10 years | 35mm | Stains void it; transport covered in the first 12 months only |
| Peace Lily | 15 years (Hybrid), 25 years (Latex) | Not given on the page we read | — |
| Ecosa | 15 years | 20mm | Proper foundation; original purchaser |
| OneBed | 10 years (Original) | 20mm | First claim free; later claims may cost up to 30% of retail |
| Origin | 15 years | 2.54cm | Rotate every 3–6 months; proper foundation |
| Sleeping Duck | 10 years | 30mm | Sprung or adjustable bases void it; slats 12cm apart at most; 140kg per sleeper maximum |
| Ergoflex | 10 years | 1 inch | Must be registered |
The Australian Consumer Law sits underneath all of this. Whatever a brand’s own terms say, a mattress must be of acceptable quality, and a major failure entitles you to a repair, replacement or refund. A brand’s warranty is added on top of those guarantees, not in place of them.
How to protect your trial and your warranty
- Photograph the mattress flat, with the date, on the day it arrives. A sag claim usually turns on that photo.
- Keep the plastic bag and the order email. Several brands need the bag to collect, and Sleep Republic matches claims to the email or phone you ordered with.
- Use a protector from the first night. Stains can cost you both the refund and the warranty.
- Check your base against the brand’s rules before delivery: slat gaps, curved slats, sprung or adjustable bases.
- Rotate it as the brand asks. Origin, Sleep Republic, Sleep Firm, Yinahla and Luxara make rotation part of the warranty.
- Register it if the brand asks. Ergoflex’s warranty needs registration.
- Start a return well before the last night. Charity collections can take two to four weeks to arrive.
Common questions
Which mattress brands have the longest trial in Australia?
Among the 12 brands we cover, Emma, Sleep Republic, Sleep Firm and Yinahla offer 150 nights, OneBed 125, and Koala and Origin 120 days. Ecosa, Luxara, Peace Lily and Sleeping Duck offer 100 nights, and Ergoflex 30.
Are mattress returns really free?
In the capital cities each brand lists, usually yes. Outside them, read the terms before you buy: at most brands you take the mattress to a depot or a charity yourself, and Ergoflex charges about $100–$350. Koala, Emma and Ergoflex also keep the delivery fee.
What does a mattress warranty actually cover?
Manufacturing defects, and sagging deeper than the depth the brand sets, which runs from 20mm to 35mm. It does not cover normal softening, stains, comfort preference, or damage from an unsuitable base.
Do I need a mattress protector?
No brand requires one, but most of the return policies and warranties we read exclude stains. A protector is the cheapest way to keep both your trial and your warranty intact.
How we checked
We read each brand’s own trial, returns and warranty pages, and where a warranty sits in a separate document we read that too. Every fact on this page comes from those pages as they stood on 7 October 2026. Terms change, so check the brand’s page before you buy, and tell us if something here has moved.
Some of these brands pay us a commission when you buy through our links; see our affiliate disclosure. That plays no part in what this page reports.
